Orhaneli 64 km (39 mile) far to Bursa . There is Keles at its east, Harmancik and Bursa at its southeast, Buyukorhan at its south, Mustafakemalpasa districts at its west and Bursa’s central districts at its north.  There are approximately 25,000 people living in the district.

The economy of the district is based on agriculture and animal breeding.  Strawberry and sour cherry is grown in the district and exported.  Raising sheep and animal breeding/raising provides a large amount of income in the district.  There are mineral beds (mineral deposits) containing of chromium, lignite, magnesite, asbestos, dolomite, marble, talc, calcite, feldspar, cyanite, limestone and iron.  Food industry organizations in the Organized Industrial Zone are mostly associated with flour, feed and dairy products.  History:   The district’s previous name was Adranos which came from the name of the Roman Emperor Hadrianus (117-138) who used the district as a hunting ground.  It was the episcopacy center during the Eastern Roman (Byzantine) times but in 1325, with the order of Orhan Bey, it was added to the Ottoman principality by Turgut Alp (Turvud, Turud, Durgut, Durud).  Durdu (Turgud) Bey Mosque’s name in the district center comes from this.  Known as Adarnos with the changes in the local Greek mouth and as Adirnaz with the Turkmen’s, the center district is the borough of Beyce.  Aristides, the ancient Greek rhetorician (preacher), is from here.  Until the Hudavendigar State Assembly changed its name to Orhan Ili in 1911, the district’s name was Adranos-Atranos.  It suffered a Greek invasion in July 8, 1920 and it was freed on September 9, 1922.  In 1934, with the decision of the Turkish Grand National Assembly, the name of the Beyce borough along with the district was changed to Orhaneli.

We Recommend  : Kairos Travel  |  Unlu Hotel | Captivating Cappadocia
Did you like this? Share it: