Mudanya 29 km (18 mile) far to Bursa . Formed as an Ion Colony by the Kolophones in 7th Century BC, Mudanya bore the name Mirleia first, then Apamia and finally Montania.  The name Mudanya came from the change of Montania.  Mudanya was the center of the district back in the 19th Century and it has Karacabey at its west, Bursa at its north, neighbors with Gemlik at its east and the Gemlik Gulf at its south.  It is 32 kilometers away from Bursa.  It occupies an area of 346 km2.  There are 36 villages within 2 towns (Zeytinbagi and Guzelyali) under Mudanya.  At the centrum of the district, there are 8 neighborhoods.  According to the 2007 data, population of the district is 62,369 and constantly gets new people moving in.  An important port city for centuries, Mudanya still continues its duties today as ‘’Bursa’s Port’’.  Bursa’s connection with Istanbul is done via the Mudanya/Guzelyali coast.

Due to its coast and proximity to the province, Mudanya is the countryside center of Bursa and with its fish restaurants and residential areas such as Sigi, Kumkaya and Zeytinbagi (Trilye) along with its street and historical homes, it as a charming coastal town and a tourist center.  Due to the summer months being cool, the touristic season does not last too long. Aside from foreign tourism, there are tourism activities being carried out daily with the visitors coming from other provinces and districts and especially from Bursa.  In addition to this, number of people staying at their own summer homes is quite high. Historical Cultural Sites:  Aside from the Mudanya Armistice Museum, the ‘’Tahir Pafla Mansion’’ outside the district center is an important architectural structure that needs to be seen.  It is the most beautiful example of the 19th century mansions.  Being used as a hotel today, Mudanya Train Station is another must-see architectural structure.  There are 7 churches and 3 holy springs left from the Greeks in the small town of Zeytinbagi (Trilye) of which has extraordinary beauty in terms of scenery.  The St. Staphanos church was transformed into a mosque (Fatih Mosque) in the 14th century.  It is said that the ‘’arched church’’ named Panagia Pantobalissa that was brought to Iskenderiye is the first church in the world that had pictures drawn on its walls. There is also a Hagios Taxiarchoi Church in Sigikoy which is thought to be built in the 780s.

Tekke-i Atik Mosque is no precise information about the creator/builder of the mosque.  However, it is thought Haci Ali Zagili Magrabi had it built.  There is a plaque on top of the entrance door with a 1453 written on it.  Planned as rectangular towards the north-south direction, the mosque has an actual place of worship and a narthex and the roof is a hipped roof and covered by tiles.  The mihrab (alter) is covered by blue and white square-shaped glazed tile panels.

Omer Bey Mosque built in 1715, the mosque is named after its builder.  Repaired many times, the minaret of the mosque still preserves its authenticity.

Mudanya Armistice House the waterside residence situated on the coast of Mudanya where the ceasefire agreement was signed to end the Turkish-Greek war between Grand National Assembly of Turkey and the allied powers on October 11, 1922 is a 19th century structure. The mansion was built in accordance with the civil architecture of its era and has been serving as a museum since 1937.  In the museum, there are variety of documents and materials from the Turkish War of Independence and Armistice along with goods/objects from that era on display.

Hasan bey hamam built by Hasan Bey in 1652, the Hamam failed to stand the test of time and was used as a carpenter’s shop for a long period of time.  Today, the Hamam will be given back to Mudanya with Cultural Center functionalities and in accordance with its originality.

We Recommend  : Kairos Travel  |  Unlu Hotel | Captivating Cappadocia
Did you like this? Share it: