Karkamis is 73 km (45 mile) far to Gaziantep . Karkamis, aka Kargamis, next to the site of ancient Karkemish, is a town and district of Gaziantep Province in southeastern Turkey. The population of the town is 2,998 as of 2010.

It is a border checkpoint on the road to Jarabulus in Syria. In 2004, 8,071 vehicles and 38,263 people passed the border checkpoint into Turkey while 8,795 vehicles and 35,474 people crossed it towards Syria.

The River Euphrates runs east of Karkamıs southwards into Syria. At this place, a railway bridge of 870 m (2,850 ft) that was built between 1911-1913 by German engineers as part of the Istanbul-Baghdad Railway, crosses the river parallel to the border line.

One of the 21 dams of the Southeastern Anatolia Project (GAP), the Karkamis Dam and hydoelectric power station is located 4.5 km (2.8 mi) upstream from the border crossing of Euphrates.

In March 2011, the Turkish military base which included Karkemish ruins was cleared of mines. Archaeologists from Italy and Turkey have begun excavations in the town in September 2011.

The Municipality of Karkamis was established in 1961, before then having been administratively under Nizip. At the time of the famous British Museum excavations at the nearby archaeological site to the East (1911–1914, 1920), Karkamis was not yet existing, only the railway station built by the Germans being already there, since the main village at that time was Jarabulus, now in Syria. After the Turkish War of Independence a settlement was established around the railway station named after the famous nearby archaeological site.

The ancient site of Karkemish is now an extensive set of ruins, located on the West bank of Euphrates River, about 60 kilometres (37 mile) southeast of Gaziantep, Turkey and 100 kilometres (62 mile) northeast of Aleppo, Syria. The site is crossed by the Turco-Syrian border. A Turkish military base has been built on the Karkemish acropolis and Inner Town, and access to the site is presently restricted. Most of the Outer Town lies in Syrian territory.

T. E. Lawrence and Leonard Woolley (right) in Karkemish, Spring 1913

Karkemish has always been well known to scholars because of several references to it in the Bible (Jer. 46:2; 2 Chr. 35:20; Isa. 10:9) and in Egyptian and Assyrian texts. However, its location was identified only in 1876 by George Smith.

The site was excavated by the British Museum, 1878-1881 by Patrick Henderson, 1911 by D. G. Hogarth and R. Campbell Thompson, and from 1912 to 1914 by C. L. Woolley, and T. E. Lawrence (“Lawrence of Arabia”). Excavations were interrupted in 1914 by World War I, resumed in 1920 with Woolley and then ended with the Turkish War of Independence. These expeditions uncovered substantial remains of the Neo Hittite and Neo Assyrian periods, including defensive structures, temples, palaces, and numerous basalt statues and reliefs with Luwian hieroglyphic inscriptions.

Though the site itself is off limits to tourism until October 2014, with the completion in March 2011 of mine clearing operations on the Turkish portion of the site, archaeological work has finally resumed in September 2011 thanks to a Turco-Italian joint archaeological expedition under the direction of Prof. Nicolò Marchetti of Bologna University.

We Recommend  : Kairos Travel  |  Unlu Hotel | Captivating Cappadocia
Did you like this? Share it: