Apollo Smintheion is 97 km (60 mile) far to Çanakkale centurum. The first excavations on the site started in 1866. after a short period of digging the site was left for a long time. In 1971-73 the digging resumed but the temple was again forgotten until 1980.

The sacred area of Simintheion was one of the important worship centres of Troas.
It is believed that the location of the temple was in an area rich in water, just as it is today.
This was due to the fact that Apollo needed water to make on oracle.

Hellenistic era coins of Alexandria Troas, which are referred to in written sources, depict the god Apollo on one side in front of the temple while the other has an imprint of a statue of the “mouse-smintheus”, though this statue is yet to be found.

As a part of the excavations in the sarced area a unique Roman bridge was revealed on the Tuzla Streamlet on the nearby Gulpinar-Tuzla plain.

The bridge linked Alexandreia Troas and the sarced area.

Open daily between 08:30-17:00

Address: Gülpınar Beldesi, Ayvacık – Çanakkale
Tel:
Admission: 5 TL

*Ticket booths are closing 30 minutes or an hour before the museum closing time*

We Recommend  : Kairos Travel  |  Unlu Hotel | Captivating Cappadocia
Did you like this? Share it: