Yildiz Palace Complex also known as Yildiz Sarayi, Yildiz Saray, Yildiz Palatial Complex, Yildiz Sale, Star Palace. The grounds at Yildiz were acquired under Sultan Ahmed I (reg. 1603-1617) and were used for recreation by Sultan Murad IV (reg. 1623-1640) and Sultan Selim III (reg. 1789-1807), and included a pavilion named after the latter’s mother, Valide Sultan Mihrisah.

Under Sultans Mahmud II (reg. 1808-1839), Abdulmecid (1839-1861), and Abdulaziz (reg. 1861-1876), different villas and pavilions were added to the parks at Yildiz. However, it was not until the reign of Abdulhamid II (reg. 1876-1909) that a royal palace was created at Yildiz. Abdulhamid’s predecessors were based at the Dolmabahce Palace, and the Yildiz Palace was only used as the seat of the Sultan between 1889-1909, after which the Dolmabahce again became the royal residence.

The main components of the Yildiz Palace are the Cadir Pavilion, the Malta Pavilion, the Sale Pavilion, the opera house and theatre, the palace museum, the imperial porcelain factory, and government offices. A mosque, used by Sultan Abdulhamid on Friday during the Selamlik ceremony, also formed part of the complex.

Of the structures comprising the Yildiz complex, the Sale can be dated by its three parts. Originally constructed in 1880, it was added to in 1889 by the Turkish architect Sarkis Balyan. on the occasion of a visit from Emperor Wilhelm II. A third section, the Merasim (Ceremonial) Pavilion, was added in 1898 by Raimondo d’Aronco, an Italian architect, again preceding a state visit by Wilhelm II.

Today, the Yildiz complex functions as a park and museum, and the Sale Pavilion is also used for hosting private receptions.

Yildiz Palace Çit Pavilion, Istanbul

Yildiz Palace Çit Pavilion also known as Yildiz Sarayi Çit Kasri. Built in the mid-19th century the building was originally used as a library and ambassadors reception hall for foreign diplomatic missions. In the early 1980’s, the Turkish Government allocated this building to serve as a research center for history, art, and culture.

The restoration of this oblong, one-storey building was executed after thorough research on the original construction methods and materials was conducted. The necessary infrastructure (heating, electricity, etc.) and other amenities were installed to cater for the new type of activities taking place in the Qasr. The main reception room has been restored and converted into a multi-purpose hall equipped with simultaneous translation booths.

Some samples of the original cloth (known as çit”) decorating the walls were found and left in place

Yildiz Palace Yaveran Qasr,  Istanbul

Yildiz Palace Yaveran Qasr also known as Yildiz Sarayi Yaveran Köskü Restorasyonu, Yaveran Pavilion, Yaveran Mansion.  Commissioned by Sultan Abdul Hamid in the late 19th century and designed by Italian architect Raimondo Dranco, the Yaveran building is part of the Yildiz Palace complex and originally accommodated the Palace’s high-ranking aides-de-camp. The two-storey, wooden structure was first thoroughly surveyed in order to register the forms of the original woodwork and wall decorations. The interior was then demolished and rebuilt according to the original plans, while the exterior was left intact, but underwent total restoration. The straight, oblong plan of the building and its rythmic facade constituted an ideal shell for the subdivision of floor surfaces on both floors; a basement was added to provide additional storage space. Original details were restored in an attempt to recreate the atmosphere of Yaveran building, once the garden’s eastern wall, placed at the entrance of the Yildiz Palace complex. Two other monuments annexed to this building – the guard-house and the Hamidiye Fountain – were also restored.

We Recommend  : Kairos Travel  |  Unlu Hotel | Captivating Cappadocia
Did you like this? Share it: