Cifte medrese also known as Çifte Minare Medrese, Çifte Medrasa, Giyasiye Madrasa, Sifaiye Madrasa, Gevher Nesibe Darüssifasi ve Tip Medresesi, Çifte-Minare-Medrese, Çifte Minare Medrese. The Çifte Madrasa is so named because it consists of two adjacent four-iwan buildings oriented north-south. The one to the east was founded as a medical school by Sultan Giyaseddin Keyhüsrev (1192-1197 and 1205-1211) and the other was founded as a hospital by his sister Gevher Nesibe Sultan. The complex is not only the first Seljuk madrasa in Kayseri, but also the oldest hospital in Anatolia.

The entire structure is sixty by forty meters, built of local stone, with the hospital roughly square and thirty-five meters wide and the medical school twenty-five meters wide. The hospital has a main southern portal that is not on the main axis of the courtyard. It leads into a square paved courtyard surrounded by an arcade. There is a pool in the center of the courtyard. A large iwan spans the entire width of the northern side of the court. The plan is irregular, with rooms of various sizes accessed from the arcade. A long, narrow wing of small cells lined up on two sides of a corridor is reached by a small doorway at the southwest corner of the arcade. This structure is entirely separate from the circulation of the hospital, but shares a wall with the western rooms of the court. There is a smaller entrance to the right of the main portal that opens into the eastern arcade of the hospital courtyard.

A small corridor at the northeast corner of the hospital courtyard leads to the madrasa next door, which also has an irregular plan with an arcaded courtyard, a pool and an off-axis entrance. The east side of the courtyard houses an octagonal tomb, which is an early Seljuk funerary structure. The octagon is surmounted by a pyramidal roof as seen from the outside, with a squinch-supported dome on the inside. This is most likely the tomb of Gevher Nesibe Sultan, the daughter of Sultan Kiliç Arslan (1156-1192).

Today the building continues to serve a medical function. Following a restoration in 1968, it is used by the administration of the Kayseri medical school.

We Recommend  : Kairos Travel  |  Unlu Hotel | Captivating Cappadocia
Did you like this? Share it: